Julian Light Operatic Society

Light Opera in Ealing for the enjoyment of all.

Directors of JLOS

Jessica Dalton pic.

Jessica Dalton - Director

Jessica Dalton is a director and designer based in London. She is Artistic Director of The Willmore Singers and currently Director in Residence with Julian Light Operatic Society.

Previous credits include Carmen (Birmingham Repertory Opera Society), Twelfth Night (Bristol Shakespeare Festival), Timon of Athens (The Willmore Singers), Dido and Aeneas (The Willmore Singers), HMS Pinafore (Grosvenor Light Opera Society) and Brundibar (as part of the City of Bristol's Holocaust Memorial Day commemorations).

She is currently a doctorate student at the University of Roehampton where she is supported by a music scholarship from the Southlands Methodist Trust.

James Naylor pic.

James Naylor - Musical Director

James Naylor is a choral director and community practitioner working in the Greater London area. He is the MD of Waltham Forest Community Choir and touring chamber opera company the Willmore Singers. While reading music at the University of Birmingham, he was MD of the university's Gilbert and Sullivan Society and conducted an award winning performance of Patience at the Harrogate International Festival

James has taken part in G & S Operettas and roles include Pooh-Bah The Mikado, the Usher Trial by Jury, Dick Dead-Eye in JLOS's 2018 H.M.S Pinafore and 2nd Yeoman in their 2019 The Yeomen of the Guard.

Accompanist - Jan Cunningham

Previous Directors

Fraser Grant 1998 - 2019

Stephen Roe 1994 - 1997

Ken Robertson 1992 - 1993

Sheila Forrester 1992

Alan Rankin-Crookes 1990

Melanie Mehta 1990, 1991

Tony Jaffe 1989

Gillian Jarvis 1988

Melanie Green 1988

Laurie Beattie 1987

Lee Chambers 1986

Brian Dobbins 1985

Michael King 1980

Dick Roberts 1978, 1981 - 1983

Trevor J. Hampton 1975 - 1979

Margaret Bannon 1948 - 1974, 1983,1984

Previous Musical Directors

Jack Wong 2017 - 2019

Harry Ogg 2015 - 2016

Paul Smith 2005 - 2014

Derek Holland 1998 - 2004

Simon Sharp 1996 - 1997

Keith Spillet 1994 - 1996

Roy Talbot 1979 - 1994

Alec Gurd 1962 - 1978

Douglas Pressey 1961

Albert Collier 1950 - 1956